IFCA Banner
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News

YouTube facebook email

Subscribe to IWA News


Coming soon . . .
specialist edition of
WCR 2013-2016


Techno 293 / Raceboard
Formula Windsurfing

FW JYM Europeans 13



Red Bull Storm Chase

If you are experiencing difficulties displaying this email please click here
WELCOME TO 2013 - a New Year and a New President - Paul Leone!

"We received an early Christmas present last November when the ISAF General Assembly reversed an earlier decision of Council and re-instated windsurfing and the RS:X Class as an event and equipment in the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. We can look forward to this new year, and beyond, with confidence and optimism - we are part of a great sport with a global following; optimistic that the sport can emerge stronger and more unified and that collectively we can ensure its Olympic future beyond 2016."

IWA committee information

After 10 years in the Chair, Ceri Williams has stepped down to concentrate on his full time post as IWA Executive Secretary.

NA Class Association Fees
Renewals are going out soon so please make sure we have your up-to-date national association contact details.  It is a requirement, as specified in each Notice of Race for IWA Sanctioned Events: "Competitors shall be members of a National Class Association which is a paid up member of the relevant international class association." 
Membership gives:

     * Each affiliated NA one vote at the Class AGM, plus one vote (per class) at the IWA AGM,
     * Listing on the IWA website with a webpage
     * National Championship Events , open to foreign competitors, added to the  relevant Class and IWA calendars .

We look forward to your continued support of IWA and its member classes, and to more National Associations joining in 2013.


SIM 32nd Singapore Open inc FW and RSOne Asian Championships, 16-20 January 2013, NSRCC Sea Sport Centre, Changi Coast Walk, Singapore

The Downunder Pro at Hawks Nest will host the Oceanic Championships for Techno 293, Raceboard at the end of January followed by the Formula Windsurfing Oceanics. If you are looking to get some training in why not enter Heat 5 of NSW Windsurfing at the same venue from 26th/27th January.

Club Nautico Cordoba, Argentina will host the Techno 293 and Raceboard South Americans from 28 March to 1 April.

The Formula Windsurfing Europeans will take place in Portugal from 29 April to 5 May and 2013 European Cup Tour Events are being added to the calendar.

Due to its phenominal success, the Techno 293 Class has decided to "go it alone" for this year's World Championship - including new T293+ - confirmed for 27 July-3 August, hosted by Sopocki Klub Zeglarski (SKZ) Sopot, Poland.

The Raceboard World Championship will be held 1-7 September Yacht Club Dyje, Nove Mlyny, Pavlov - arguably the best windsurfing spot in the Czech Republic with plenty to do in addition to racing. Competitors are invited to warm up by entering the Czech National Championships the preceeding weekend.

For details of all these and more see the IWA calendar or visit individual Class websites.

VIEW 2013 CALENDAR . . .


Venue: Luderitz, Namibia.......( more )

Putting Windsurfing on UK national BBC tv. Zara talking about Her Womens World Speed record in Luderitz Namibia.

Congratulations to Paulo Dos Reis (BRA 3333) who takes the title of 2012 Formula Experience World Champion. FE Masters Champion is Marcello Morrone (BRA 3), FE Youth Champion is Gabriel Bastos (BRA 127), FE Women's Champion is Bruna Mello (BRA 49) and Alessio Botteri (PER 20) is the undisputed FE Junior Champion.......( more )

Three races on the last day of the 2012 RS:ONE World Championships - and three new champions, all decided on the final race of the day! ......( more )

The prize giving ceremony at Weymouth would not only announce the event winner for the Centaur King of the Wind, but also the overall 2012 European Champion. ......( more )

The Jaguar NeilPryde Racing Series finished the year in style, at the Rio de Janeiro Extreme Sailing SeriesTM event. Sixty windsurfers from Brazil and France competed on the universal, one-design RS:One, an ISAF-approved class.......( more )

The annual competition held on the man made canal in Namibia has come to a close for another year.

After so many records were broken many riders were hopeful that the last Thursday would deliver more wind that would enable the speeds to be pushed a little further, but unfortunately it was not to be. ......( more )

Levi lenz wins The South American Wave Championship and Wilhelm Schurmann wins The South American Slalom Championship. ......( more )


Formula Experience         Formula Windsurfing        IFCA          IMCO         ISWC         Raceboard      RSOne    Techno
If you wish to unsubscribe from IWA Newsletter please click here