BannerTechno 293 Windsurfers by cliff
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News
 - IWA Newsletters
Archive News


New Kona World Champion. US sailor, Rasmus Sayre
Posted On:  06/11/2014 08:39:49

We have a new Kona World Champion. US sailor, 17 year-old Rasmus Sayre from the Island of Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts on the US East Coast won the championship in big style on Wednesday after taking an impressive six bullets out of twelve races.

"I am very happy. It's my first World Championship title and I value it highly. It's been a challenging championship with a very high level of the competition. I managed to keep my racing on a steady level throughout the five days," gold medalist Rasmus Sayre, comments.

Danish windsurfing legend Tim Aagesen finished second. He has won international world championship titles in four different classes during three decades. He won the Kona Worlds in 2011 and finished second in 2012.

"This is by far the best Kona Worlds I have attended. The level of competition is constantly raising since the class continues to attract both young talents and experienced racers," Tim Aagesen comments.

The bronze medal was won by Rasmus' father Nevin Sayre, American windsurfing icon and winner of the US Kona One Nationals earlier this year. He managed to move himself up from eight to third place, in the overall, last day after a strong performance.

"Today I am a proud father. I am also grateful for the opportunity to compete in the same international championship as both my children. That is was makes Kona quite unique," Nevin Sayre comments.

Everyone seemed to agree that this was the best Kona Worlds so far. A total of 105 competitors from thirteen countries like China, Brazil, Bermuda and Egypt competed under perfect sailing conditions with winds ranging from 12 - 30 knots during the five days. More than anything it has been an event of great smiles, friendship and Kona spirit.

At the last skipper's meeting Kona profile "Woody" Woodworth from Canada spoke on behalf of all competitors when he thanked event chairman Michael Fox and the rest of the organization for putting together a top-class event.


Formula Experience Formula WindsurfingIFCA   RS Convertible ISWCRaceboard  Division II  RsOne  Techno  Phantom 295
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson