BannerTechno 293 Windsurfers by cliff
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News
 - IWA Newsletters
Archive News


2014 RS:One South American Championships
Posted On:  10/11/2014 16:10:36

Bruna Martinelli (BRA-49) had a brilliant start, leading the male dominated fleet for the first two days of competition but, with a collision at the start of day three requiring a 360 degree penalty turn resulting in a sixth place finish, followed by another sixth in the next race and then a third place, Bruna saw the title slip from her hands by a single point.

RS:One Champion youth Brenno Francioli (BRA-49) managed the last day's conditions perfectly - 20 knots and big waves - claiming all three bullets. In third place overall was Yago Carvalho (BRA-147), consistent throughout with most of his finishes being second or third over the line.

This championship, with a large range of conditions, rewarded the best all round sailors.  It was held at a fantastic and beautiful event site (Tivoli Ecoresort), with good organization, lots of sun and smiles, clean and warm water, and the efforts of Neil Pryde's Adrianno Azevedo who is leading the development of the RS:One class in Brazil.

We are looking forward to seeing the best RS:One competitors from the world over in Indonesia, Bintan next month for the 2014 RS:One World championships.


Photo Gallery

Day one of competition was sunny day enabling 3 races in winds from 8/10 first race, 6/8 for races 2 and 3, and in really choppy water.

Large dominance from female RS:X sailor, Bruna Martinelli, BRA-49 from Recife, followed by the rookie Brenno Francioli from Araruama in second place.  In 3rd Fernando Giestas (first master old generation) from Vitoria and a good surprise in fourth Lucas Bufano from Sao Paulo's Team Brazil fleet. 

On Day Two races should have started at 11:00 but the wind was late, AP flag flew and competitors had to wait for the three races that eventually took place.  Another great day's racing in the end.

Formula Experience Formula WindsurfingIFCA   RS Convertible ISWCRaceboard  Division II  RsOne  Techno  Phantom 295
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson