BannerTechno 293 Windsurfers by cliff
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News
 - IWA Newsletters
Archive News


Hong Kong Team Claims Men and Women World Titles
Posted On:  15/12/2015 12:24:32

The RS:One Class, in partnership with the PWA, the Philippines Sport Commission and the Philippines Olympic Committee, held the 2015 Club Balai Isabel RS:One World Championships from the 7th to 12th December on Taal Lake, Philippines.  The championship, opened to all, allowed international racers to compete through innovative race formats such as the Pulsar (compact slalom, America's Cup style).

RS:One is a multi generational, one-design windsurfing board featuring an easy and light performing 7.8 rig. Espoirs (youth under 22 years old), Seniors (under 40 year old) and Masters (older than 40), men and women, can race together on the same starting line in a collective fleet.

15 races were accomplished in 4 days of racing with 3 Pulsar and 12 Regatta races in a wide range of wind - from 4 to 26 knots.

Despite their early week races lead, USA's Pedro Pascual and the Philippines' Kaibigan Yancy were unable to fight against the impressive Hong Kong sailor, Chun Ting Lee, in the Men's Division. With remarkable consistency in all conditions, he claimed the 2015 World Men's title. 2012 World Champion, Geylord Coveta from the Philippines, completed the men's podium with a great come back, finishing just behind Pascual.

In the women's fleet, Hong Kong's Wai Yan Ngai was crowned the 2015 RS:One world Women's Champion. She delivered a solid week of performance often finishing ahead of many in the men's fleet. Spanish racer Pilar Lamadrid finished third behind Ngai's team-mate Kwan Ching Ma who completed a strong Hong Kong 1-2.

Hong Kong is without any doubt, the best RS:One world nation so far having claimed five World and two Asian championships gold medals. Other Asian nations will have to intensify their training if they want to be in with a chance to win a medal at the 2018 Asian Games.

The RS:One Class would like to thank all the key persons, volunteers and sponsors who were instrumental in the success of the 2015 Club Balai Isabel RS:One World Championships.

The 2015 Club Balai Isabel RS:One World Championships ends an intense 2015 RS:One racing season. 2016 season will start in January with the Singapore Open followed by the Asian Championships in Pattaya, Thailand in May, and the European Championships in Loctudy France in July. Dubai will welcome the 2016 World Championships in December, 2016.

The RS:One Class would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

See you in 2016!

Final Results after 15 races

Men's World Championship
1- Chun Ting Lee - Hong Kong
2- Pascual Pedro - USA
3- Coveta Geylord - Philippines

Women's World Championship
1- Wai Yan Ngai - Hong Kong
2- Kwan Ching Ma - Hong Kong
3- Lamadrid Pilar - Spain

Espoir Men's Division
1- Chun Ting Lee - Hong Kong
2- Pascual Pedro - USA
3- Kaibigan Yancy - Philippines

Espoir Women's Division
1- Wai Yan Ngai - Hong Kong
2- Kwan Ching Ma - Hong Kong
3- Lamadrid Pilar - Spain

Masters Men's Division
1- Mouro Pedro - Portugal
2- Sempelan, Micah Emanuel - Indonesia
3- Juarez Arlie - Philippines

More information about the RS:One Class here:
Credit Photo: Jijo De Guzman
Formula WindsurfingIFCA   RS Convertible ISWCRaceboard  Division II  RsOne  Techno  Techno Plus
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson