BannerTechno 293 Windsurfers by cliff
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News
 - IWA Newsletters
Archive News


Formula Windsurfing Oceanic and Australian Nationals 28-30 Jan 2016
Posted On:  31/01/2016 13:32:39

As sailors again arrived early at the beach for the final day, we all held our breath in hope that perhaps the forecast would somehow be wrong again. As it turned out the wind gods took mercy on us and we had a promising looking breeze building out of the south east by 12pm.

By 12.30 we again had course set, with a windward top mark & gate bottom to give people another option on the return upwind leg. With three back to back races in the first part of the day, we then returned to the beach for lunch in the hope that we'd have another two to finish off the regatta. However after the break and as we returned out to the start boat, just as it had done the day before, the skies darkened & we knew that this one may well be the final race of the day.

And what a race it was: With most of the fleet still on their big sails & as the storm rolled in, the wind kicked in & by race end we had 20knot gusts from the south for the final lap. Despite the wind change, this made little difference to the dominance of Steve Allen, with Justin Lord managing a very commendable 2nd place and Sean O'Brian taking advantage of the 10.5mt that he'd been stuck with for the whole regatta. Indeed as Steve pointed out in his winning acceptance speech, at the end of the day, it was a regatta for 12.5mt sails his year! Perhaps a trip north of the border for next year might be just the ticket to change that part of the equation.

A very big congratulations to the winners and place getters. Open Fleet: Steve Allen, Justin Lord & Brett Morris Grand Masters: Rick Murray, Tibor Ferenczy & Wayne Bowness Free Formula: Lara O'Brian, Bruce Healey & Steve Cominsky Youth Winner: Jacob Whitford

A massive thanks to our sponsors & Windsurf & Snow for the fantastic prizes and support with all winners receiving a new mast from Slake and some great windsurfing accessories from Windsurf & Snow

A very special thanks to our photographers Rob Plim & Mari Barrios for doing a great job and providing some wonderful images over the preceding days. The final days images will be available soon.

Finally, many thanks to Andrew McLachlan, Jeremy Atkins, John Slender & Andy from GRSC. A special mention & thanks also to John O'Brien for supporting the sailors on the beach with communication back to the RO and providing the results for the event. Thank you also to the travellers from interstate, was great to sail with you all and very much looking forward to doing it all again next year.

Adam Craven AUS-032 
Windsurfing NSW President
GRSC Windsurfing Class Captain

Formula WindsurfingIFCA   RS Convertible ISWCRaceboard  Division II  RsOne  Techno  Techno Plus
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson