BannerTechno 293 Windsurfers by cliff
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News
 - IWA Newsletters
Archive News


2013 RS:X Europeans & Youth Europeans - NoRs Published, new format trialed
Posted On:  24/04/2013 11:49:10

Notices of Race for the 2013 RS:X European Windsurfing Championships and 2013 RS:X Open Youth European Windsurfing Championships to be held between June 30th and July 7th in Brest, have been published.

The RS:X Format Working Party recommended the format below, that has been incorporated into the NoRs:


  • 15 races for medal race sailors, 13 for others, all over 5 days of racing during the 6 day event, so a reserve day after day 2.
  • 3 races per day irrespective of the ability to plane or not.
  • Each race is to count towards the series with 2 discards - 1 from Round 1, 1 from Round 2; medal races cannot be discarded.  If racing is in 1 group then the 2 discards will be applied across all races irrespective of the Rounds.
  • 1 point for 1st, 2 for 2nd, etc.
  • Days 1 & 2 is Round 1 in 2 groups (max 60 per group).
  • Days 3 & 4 is Round 2 in 2 or more groups.  Gold group to be the same as anticipated Olympic numbers - 35 men, 25 women.
  • Medal Race Day - 3 medal races for top 10; non-discadable scores; no weighting on scoring (ie 1 for 1st, 2 for 2nd etc).  Remaining sailors have a single race in their groups as during final series.
  • Target times are 20-25 minutes for all races with the RO ensuring that Mark 4 is high so that the first beat is long and optimises separation for rounding the first mark.  In non-planing conditions the target time will be closer to 20 minutes than 25 minutes.


Exactly the same as Seniors except that Round 2 will remain in groups of the same size (maximum of 60) so increasing the likelyhood of racing on a windward leeward.

All other information on travel, transfers, accommodation, equipment and rib charter and also links to registration can be found here

Formula Experience Formula WindsurfingIFCA   IMCO ISWCRaceboard  Division II  RsOne  Techno  Phantom 295
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson