The Calema Midwinters was literally  blown away at the end of a spectular 7 race event. On the last day, due to wind gusts up to 47mph – racing was postponed and eventually cancelled – resulting in an earlier awards ceremony. [more]

Brazilians dominated the top of the Formula Windsurfing leaderboard with Gabriel Browne taking first place overall, although Micah Buzianis (USA) managed to clinch second place in front of Paulo Dos Reis in third by just one point.  Apart from a win in race two, Wilhelm Schurmann in fourth had to be content to watch the battles of the top three.

Competition was also tough for the Techno 293 competitors.  Rasmus Sayre (USA) had a shaky start in race one but took the championship win and becomes the Techno 293 u17 North American champion 2012. He was just one point ahead of Jonathan Rudich (USA).  Peru’s Juan Fernando Bazo, winner of the penultimate race, took third overall. 1st Under 15 techno sailor, Maximo Nores (USA) sailed well to finish fourth overall and becomes Techno 293 u15 North American champion 2012.

Overall results for Formula Windsurfing and Techno 293 here

Final results for all fleets/divisions are posted on the Calema website –

Photo Gallery

The Midwinters are loaded with talent this year. 96 entrants for the event, across the Techno 293, Formula Windsurfing, Kona and RS:X fleets.

“Today (Saturday) promises to be a wild day – sw winds increasing ahead of an approaching front. We will have anything between 15 and 30 knots of wind.”

The wind picked up nicely by midday and made for planing conditions for all fleets. However, many racers became spectators as the wind proved too much for their sail sizes later in the afternoon, as predicted early in the day: “The last race of the day will be without a doubt what makes the Midwinters memorable. Hang on to your hats.”

Over four hundred photos have been posted – find yourself if you’re a competitor and share with your friends! Feel free to submit photos and video for our page and tomorrow night’s banquet! Make sure to stop by as well!

Friday finished with Gabriel Browne leading the PRO fleet with a 3 way tie for 2nd – Micah Buzianis / Paulo dos Reis / Wilhelm Schurmann // Jonathan Rudich leads the Techno fleet with Juan Fernando Bazo in 2nd and Rasmus Sayre and Maximo Nores tied for 3rd // Nevin Sayre leads the Kona fleet with Joachim Larsson and Steve Gottlieb in hot pursuit! // In the RSX fleet – Alejandro Monllor leads with Raul Lopez in 2nd and a 3-way tie for 3rd.

Follow the event on Facebook