The 2012 Open Dutch National Championships for Techno293 have come to an end. Isis Hoekstra (NED-260) and Dominik Woelk (GER-624) are the new Dutch National Champions respectively in the Techno293 Girls and Boys divisions. [more]

The city of Workum has been a wonderful host for all the 765 competitors from 22 countries to race in 10 different youth classes on 4 course areas. In the Techno293 fleet 40 competitors from 5 different countries showed exciting and intense racing for four days on the Ijsselmeer.

Light winds predominated at the start of the event. Very gusty conditions on the first two days, good results could easily be won or lost. Competitors had to be aware of strong windgusts appearing anywhere on the race course.

Surprisingly the girls from Singapore and the Netherlands seemed to be handling the conditions very well. Three girls were on top of the leaderboard after 3 days of racing, leaving the boys with no hope on claiming the overall title.

Conditions changed on the last day of racing. When the last race brought full planing conditions on the extended double outerloop. While many of the lightwind specialists got blown away on the last day. Isis Hoekstra (NED) still managed to finish in 7th place in the windy conditions, only to discard this as her worst result.

The Ijsselmeer proved again to offer challenging and versatile racing conditions. The Dutch will be looking forward to welcome junior windsurfers from all over the world coming August for the Techno293 World Championships in Medemblik.

Overall results Techno293 Open Dutch National Championships 2012

Full results at

1. NED – Isis Hoekstra (26 pts) – U17 girls
2. GER РDominik W̦lk (41 pts) РU17 boys
3. SIN – Ruth Mow (45 pts) – U17 girls
4. NED – Ian Versluis (46 pts) – U15 boys
5. NED – Jolijn ten Bos (50 pts) – U17 girls
6. BEL – Imke de Bruyn (51 pts) – U17 girls
7. GER – Merlin Lippert (53 pts) – U17 boys
8. BEL – Lorenz de Clerq (73 pts) – U17 boys
9. SIN – Wee Nicholas (75 pts) – U17 boys
10. NED – Dion van Laarhoven (82 pts) – U17 boys

U15 division
1. NED – Ian Versluis
2. NED – Sil Hoekstra
3. NED – Lars van Someren

Best girl U15: Aimee van ‘t Hoff (NED)


Event website