The 2017 Downunder Pro took place at Hawks Nest, NSW from 24-27 January but this year it was plagued by light conditions. [more]

On the final day, a light NE wind slowly developed during the bright, sunny day allowing 2 formula races and 3 raceboard races to be run. Racing was tight across the two fleets with final rankings up for grabs.[more]
In the formula fleet former raceboard champion Leo Sharpe for QLD claimed enough points to be crowned the new Australian & Oceanic Champion followed closely by Brett Morris and Byron McIlveen.
In the free formula fleet Lara O’Brien showed a clean pair of heels to Alex Halank and Shari O’Brien.
In the Raceboard fleet Max Wojcik dominated with ten wins from ten races, however Lea Sitja from Sydney claimed the Oceanic Raceboard Championship from Richie Reynolds and James Grunfelder.
A big thanks to the excellent race crew, lead by John O’Brien, extracting the maximum number of races from the predominantly light, shifty winds over the 4 days.