The Fanatic Belgian Speed week is over and despite a good forecast the wind did not want to play ball. It delivered moderate onshore winds and big swell which resulted in only one counting round on the Wednesday. [more]

The riders had a great week however with warm sunshine and moderate winds which allowed everyone to get on the water and enjoy themselves.

The provisional winners of the event and the front runners in the 2011 European Championship are:

 Results men top 3
 1.      David Garrel         
 2.      Thorsten Mallon     
 3.      Patrick Van Hoof
 Results women top 3:
 1.      Nicky Van Hoof
 2.      Birgit Hoefer
 3.      Imke De Bruyn
These are provisional results but congratulations to Nicky and David who once confirmed will be the leaders in the European Championship, well done.

Next round is in Sweden in  2nd to 6th June.
Windsurfing European Speed Championship Tour 2011 

For 2011 the European Speed Champions will be decided from the results from participating National events.

Criteria for Tour
 ·         Based on the results of accepted European National championships.
·         The Male and Female competitors’ tour winners will be crowned the European Champions.
·         The best of three results to count for the ranking, if a tie exists, then the riders fastest speed will decide.
·         All events to count as a factor of one.
·         Additional prize money and timing systems will be used by organisers to encourage higher profile sailors.
·         Before an event is accepted as a counting round of the tour the local organiser must agree to accept minimum standards of speed competition.

ET Minimum Standards 
–  Fixed course over a minimum distance of 250 m with starting gates 
–  Accurate timing system, Navi GPS and GPS results pro as minimum standard 
–  Minimum speed of 28 knots achieved at least 3 times by 20% of the whole fleet, to qualify as a counting round. 
–  Event to run for a minimum of 5 Days on a fixed date 
– A minimum of 2 months notice of event with published NOR and confirmation of entry by organisers one month before. 
 – Competitors have to be fully paid up members of the ISWC to get a European tour championship ranking. This does not exclude them from their National championship as long as they are members of their National association. 
– Off shore course wherever possible 
– Includes a Junior Fleet where ever possible 
– Encourage festival style with clinics etc if possible

The Countries that have agreed so far to the standards and wish to take part are Belgium, Sweden, UK and Germany. Dates and details to follow.

2011 Calendar
Invitations have been sent to Spain, France, Austria, Holland and Ireland who have shown an interest in being included. European Riders who wish their nation to be included please contact your national speed championship organisers and ask them to contact us.