The RS:One, an ISAF Windsurfing Class, in partnership with the French Sailing Federation (FFV) and the Cercle Nautique de Loctudy, is holding its 2015 European Championships from the 5th to 11th July in Loctudy, France. [more]

The championship, open to all, allows international racers to compete through innovative race formats like The Pulsar (compact slalom with reaching start, America’s Cup style), Marathon (long distance) and classic Regatta. Courses are set up in a way that the on-shore audience can enjoy the races.

RS:One is a multi generational one-design windsurfing board, suitable for all ages, and featuring a light,easy to use, performance 7.8 rig.
Espoirs (youth under 22 years old), Seniors (under 40 year old) and Masters (older than 40), men and women, can race together on the same starting line as one fleet.

The wind window was narrow, wind only forecast in the morning, obliging racers to wake up early. 3 “Pulsar” races were achieved just in front of the Cercle Nautique de Loctudy with plenty of sun and a breeze of 14 knots. Full speed racing delivered an amazing show and the best of them completed 2 rounds of races in only 10 minutes!

No surprises for Faustine Merret, the 2004 Olympic Gold medalist, keeping the lead on the Spanish racer Pilar Lamadrid Trueba and Jeane Penfornis from France.
In the Men division, the American Pedro Pascual was flying on the water giving another free lesson to the fleet with 3 clear bullets consolidating the top position.
Maxime Abiven from France, made the effort and took the 2nd place from the 2013 European Champion Hugo Tanguy Mollard from France.

The wind forecast is a medium breeze for tomorrow, which will be the last day of this 2015 European Championships. The Race committee will have to make the right choice between the long distance and the Regatta format.

The European Champions will be invited – all expenses paid! – to the 2015 RS:One World Championships to be held in the picturesque Taal Lake (Philippines) with its majestic volcano, from the 7th till 12th December. An extra invitation will be given as the number 1 prize lucky draw.

credit pictures : Jerome Houyvet


1- Faustine Merret (FRA)

2- Pilar Lamadrid Trueba (ESP)

3- Jeane Penfornis (FRA)


1- Pedro Pascual (USA)

2- Maxime Abiven (FRA)

3- Hugo Tanguy Mollard (FRA)

For all the previous days action and to follow the final day RS:One facebook page