Perfect kickoff for the Multivan Windsurf Cup in Ahlbeck

Last weekend the first tour stop of the German national series Multivan Windsurf Cup took place in Ahlbeck on the island Usedom close to the Polish border. Almost 40 competitors from four different countries were registered for the regatta. After a total of four complete slalom eliminations in light to medium winds, the 2022 Multivan Windsurf Cup Champion Michele Becker (GER-277, Patrik Windsurfing) from Kiel won superiorly. Second place went to DSV squad surfer Jonne Heimann (GER-107, JP, Neil Pryde) ahead of young talent Meno Büchler (GER-91, Starboard, Severne) from Heidkate near Kiel.

Michele Becker won three of the four races. Only once he allowed himself a slip. In the third final, he crashed at the first buoy while fighting for the lead and fell back to eighth place in this race. But since every rider can delete his worst result, Becker still got the ideal score of 2.1 points and won superiorly at the opening event of the Multivan Windsurf Cup 2023 in Ahlbeck.

The fight for second place was extremely close. Two young talents delivered a thrilling head-to-head race over all four eliminations. Jonne Heimann did not have an optimal start into the regatta with an eighth place in the first elimination. However, Heimann who is also competing in the olympic iQFOiL class was able to improve more and more with fourth, third and finally even second place in the last race. In the end, Heimann scored 9.0 points.

Meno Büchler also achieved the same number of points. The young talent of the regional sailing association Schleswig-Holstein had an optimal start into the regatta with a second place in the first race. After that he also showed strong performances with third and fourth places. In the last race, however, he failed in the first round and made the 17th place. In the final standings, he has 9.0 points, just like Heimann. In the event of a tie, the better strike is the deciding factor. Here Heimann has the leading edge and can secure the second place in front of Büchler.

Lars Poggemann (GER-730, Patrick Windsurfing) had an excellent regatta. He finished all races with top-10 positions and comes to a total score of 14,0 points. With this he was able to relegate the multiple world champion Vincent Langer (GER-1, Fanatic, Duotone, 15,0 points) to fifth place with a one point gap.

In the Youth U21 classification Jonne Heimann won, ahead of Leo Richter (GER-9, JP, Neil Pryde) and Felix Wehkamp (GER-247, Fanatic, Duotone). In the Youth U19 Meno Büchler won ahead of Anton Richter (GER-6, JP, Neil Pryde) and Keno Recke (GER-10, Patrik Windsurfing). Best junior U17 was Erik Wehkamp (GER-240, Fanatic, Duotone). The best Rookie (newcomer) at the Multivan Windsurf Cup Ahlbeck was Steffen Bremerich (GER-183, FMX Racing, Severne).
Pawel Dittrich (POL-381, Severe, Starboard, Boss) from Poland won the title of Best Grandmaster (Ü50).

A special highlight of the Multivan Windsurf Cup Ahlbeck was the Grand Prix of the LVM Versicherung, which is rewarded with 1,000 Euros. For the first time ever the prize money was offered at a tour stop of the national series. The best three riders of the first race were honored separately. Michele Becker won 500 Euro, Meno Büchler 300 Euro and Kai Paustian (GER-707, Tabou, Gaastra) 200 Euro.

Full daily reports of the Multivan Windsurf Cup Ahlbeck as well as the full results are on display on the official website.